12.6 C
New York
Saturday, November 26, 2022

Don't miss

the women’s XV of France discovering New Zealand

- Advertisement -

Axel May
10:28 a.m., September 30, 2022

- Advertisement -

Experiencing a World Cup in New Zealand is a rugby player’s or rugby woman’s dream. This is what the women’s XV of France is about to experience, which has just arrived on the other side of the planet, on an island where most players have never been.

New Zealand will host the Women’s Rugby World Cup from Saturday 8th October to 12th November. The opening match will see South Africa and France face off at Eden Park in Auckland. Les Bleues, unlike their male counterparts, are not used to playing in the southern hemisphere.

- Advertisement -

More than a month and a half of competition for those who will go to the final

All smiles, the second line Céline Ferer, shows, in a video of the FFR, her luggage prepared for the long New Zealand adventure that awaits her and her teammates. “We have a big suitcase like that and a small one. For 2 months, you mustn’t forget anything. And the essentials, the toiletry bag!”, she laughs. Most of the 32 players selected to compete in New Zealand have never had the opportunity to go there. Because in this women’s rugby still under construction and in search of money, there is currently no autumn tour in the southern hemisphere as with these gentlemen.

“The first two days were a bit hard”

Arrived in Auckland, the Bleues are still suffering from jet lag, explains by videoconference captain Gaëlle Hermet: “It was a big trip with more than 20 hours of travel. It took a little time to adapt. are doing well. The first two days were a little hard in relation to the jet lag. There, that’s it, we attacked full pot again”.

In the southern hemisphere, where spring is just beginning, rain and 15 degrees are forecast for the next few days in Auckland. The French women have started to discover this New Zealand rugby culture, where the girls, the Black Ferns (translation, the Black Ferns) are even stronger than the All Blacks. They have won 5 of the first 8 editions of the World Cup.

Source: Europe1

- Advertisement -

Latest Posts