-2.7 C
New York
Wednesday, February 1, 2023

Don't miss

EU, not all countries have suspended Russian residence permits ++

- Advertisement -

(ANSA) – BRUSSELS, AUGUST 25 – Six months after the outbreak of the war in Ukraine, not all EU member states have suspended the issuance of residence permits to Russian and Belarusian citizens as part of their respective investor programs.

The European Commission informs Ansa. “We are continuing to work on the implementation of the recommendation with the Member States and discussions are ongoing,” a spokesperson points out.

“According to the data communicated, there are no Russians or Belarusians subject to sanctions who are in possession of a residence permit obtained with an investor scheme” although the evaluation is “still ongoing” in some EU countries.

“The Member States’ Expert Group on Investment Programs meets regularly to gather information: Member States inform us about developments and report on the implementation of the recommendation”, explains the spokesperson. Last March, the Commission urged Member States “to immediately repeal all programs that guarantee non-EU citizens the acquisition of citizenship or residence permits in connection with investments” and “to ensure rigorous controls to address the risks posed by programs themselves “. “The current context of the Russian aggression against Ukraine – noted the Commission – is once again highlighting these risks”. (HANDLE).

- Advertisement -

Source: Ansa

- Advertisement -

Latest Posts